On The Celtic Road

DSCN2626

DSCN2676



“On the Celtic Road” is a journey to enjoy trips of the past, explore possibilities for future adventures and learn more about Ireland in the process. It’s not that I am unfamiliar with Ireland, its people, sites and beautiful surrondings. I’m as Irish as an Irish -American can be.  My father was born in the north west of Ireland. I grew up in New York living in a strong Irish immigrant community which stretched from Rockaway Beach on weekends to vacations in the New York Catskill’s.  The brogue in those places was as thick as my father’s red Irish hair. I’ve traveled to Ireland at least a dozen times,  still have family living there, and went to school for a short time as a child in beautiful Maugherow. I also lived there for a short while as an adult and have been very blessed and lucky to have been born into a very close and proud Irish family! And as you might have guessed, I am a typical red and green blooded Irish-American who can’t get enough  of being Irish!!

As with any road trip, whether real or virtual, the best ones have great sites, food and fun. So with that in mind, “On the Celtic Road” is an exploration into Ireland’s great sites, some of its  history, Irish food recipes worth trying, and a bit o’ the blarney for fun!